From the Desk of Linda Tellington-Jones

Singing the Camel Song

I thought I’d write to you a little more about our evening at the Parco Zoo Punta Verde in Lignano, Italy. We had such a great time and made such progress, I wanted to share it with you.

Scroll down to my post, Zoo Night in Punta Verde and click on the photo. Working with me on the other side holding the sliding line on the camel is Massimo Da Re. Massimo is a veterinarian, talented jumping horse rider, Tellington TTouch Practitioner 1 for Horses, and organizer of the TTEAM trainings in Italy with his wife, Silvia. Silvia is also a verterinaian for horses and small animals, and a TTouch Practitioner in Training.

Massimo organized this evening for me at the zoo in September, which drew 108 participants for an evening Power Point presentation of “Profound Interspecies Connections,” showing TTouch on animals in zoos in several countries, followed by the demo of TTouch on a very wild camel. Since most zoos now have a policy to keep animals wild, I had suggested I do a TTouch demo on one of the domestic animals in the petting zoo so observers could TTouch their dogs or kitties at home.

However, zoo director Maria Rodeano, a good friend of Massimo’s, suggested I work with a camel who was very skittish and handled only to be treated.

The zoo keeper, who is a very experienced and skilled camel handler, got the halter on the camel and then managed to slip the lines through the rings of the halter over the stall door. When I entered the stall it was after 7 p.m. and almost dark. Instead of using one of our wands I broke off a leafy stalk of bamboo about 5 feet long to stroke the camel, thinking this would be less threatening than a stiff white wand. When I entered the stall he crowded into a corner and I quietly approached him humming a few bars of a song over and over. I didn’t know why I did this to begin with, but then I realized it would put me in heart coherence and make him feel more comfortable. When I told Tom Bluewolf about this today, he said I was singing the camel’s song. I sang it the whole time I worked – more than 45 minutes. Zoo director Maria Rodeano was thrilled and I’m invited back in April!

After working with the camel I answered questions for 45 minutes and then everyone enjoyed a delicious buffet dinner and wine at the zoo park.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

