From the Desk of Linda Tellington-Jones

I received this email from Teresa Cottarelli-Gunther of TTEAM Switzerland, and it started me thinking about the way I do things at trainings. I thought I’d share it with all of you.

Dear Linda,  In the past almost 15 years I had the great honor and pleasure to attend at the demos you gave, horses, dogs and humans.

For me each presentation was authentic, because you were with the beings at the moment – you gave what they needed at that particular moment. You make the connection between all beings. I think about the demo at Doris’s, each single horse with his owner got exactly what they were able to take to “digest” and to think about. The public was more than interested observing each of your movements, those of the horse and all the presents. You showed how authentic the method is.

On a “marketing point of view” you opened the interest for future connections of learning, helping and deepening the subject. Dear Linda, my comment is as you know reflecting what I feel and understand that’s why I believe in this work. It is to us, TTouch Switzerland, Lily, Lisa and myself, to work on this event in order to give more to the people attending the demo. You opened the heart and the door to reality…

–Teresa

Dear Teresa,
I thought a lot about the maybe strange  way I taught the horse training at Doris’s and I would like to send an explanation to all the practitioners who attended.  I was wondering why I intuitively chose NOT to show a lot of details of TTEAM for the horses; why did I not show a lot more specific TTouches, for example. Part of the reason was having 4 horses. Normally I would have spent one of those hours having people work in teams as we usually do. However, I trust the process and there must have been a reason we had 4 horses instead of the 3 I had suggested.

I realize that in order to learn the details of TTEAM you have to have personal teaching with hands-on or read the book and try it. What I hope came across with the 4 horses is an ATTITUDE of working with horses – of honoring the individual and recognizing that each horse was different and acknowledging their special personalities. As we know there are many ways to train horses. If we send some of those people home with the idea of relating to their horses with heart and hands, then we did something worthwhile for horses and for the planet. that is my reason for being on this earth and I know that is also yours.

–Linda

Comments on: "Heart-In-Hands: Staying Present in the Moment Determines How Trainings Unfold" (2)

  1. Hi Linda, hi Teresa!
    So it was me and Sturuss, the Haflinger, at Doris’s and I just wanted to confirm that I found the actual process of each case study very positive, entering into each individual pair’s needs and demonstrating relevant techniques and ideas to provide “homework” for each participant to ponder upon without overwhelming or setting impossible standards. I think heart and hands is an excellent description for that and want to say thank you again.
    Of course, for trained practitioners, there is probably a more routine feel to events like this, so I can’t say whether they will have perceived this one any differently or even been disappointed that not more could be shown. Certainly for an owner in an animal partnership, with only some theoretical knowledge of the material and (hopefully) healthy human instincts, the day was an endless source of fascination and hope as well as food for thought.

    I would like to add that I have come to the conclusion that there were more contributing factors to Sturuss’ unmannerly behaviour on that day. I had mentioned that he was unfamiliar with any kind of covered riding school (and he is always curious!), but apart from being shut in a loose box on a beautiful day, which he is not accustomed to, it turned out he’d only been fed a small amount of fresh grass in the course of the day and he was quite simply very hungry by the end of the afternoon – you know what capacity a Haflinger has! So his curiosity knew no bounds and manners were the last thing on his mind… I hasten to say he has been a gentleman ever since, even going home he was no trouble with the trailer (where he had some feed) and even subsequently being led to the field he walked nicely with nothing other than the halter he was wearing, no pulling or snatching despite his keenness to get back to grass and his friends. Also in his daily behaviour he is behaving nicely, standing more quietly and only nuzzling in a friendly manner rather than the lippiness you suffered, while he continues to be a pleasant and easy ride, showing a good level of fitness for a 26 year old pony.
    Now whether this has to do with meeting such a wonderful animal ambassador or whether I unconsciously behave differently is anyone’s guess, but I thought you might be interested!

    Kindest regards and best wishes for all you do, I feel honoured to have been able to work with you!
    Melanie

  2. Carol Wegener said:

    Dear MelD
    I also have a Haflinger who I love. Would love for you to share some of the techniques from Linda. He is a snatcher and sometimes not a gentleman and I would love to improve him.
    Many Thanks
    CarolW

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

