From the Desk of Linda Tellington-Jones

I really want to share with you this wonderful story sent to me by a client of one of our most active practitioners-in-training, Linda Troup, of Touch N Paws in southern California.

LeeAnne Galasso relates her experience of using ear TTouch to save her dog’s life. It is quite hair-raising. Before reading, enjoy the slide show of her beautiful doggies.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Rowdie Girl is my tiny 8lb, 2-year-old, wirehaired dachshund. She is my silly clown, my relentless ball chaser, my constant shadow, my heartbeat.

I thought she was going to die last night.

It all happened so fast. We returned from our walk at 8:20 pm. I remember sitting down and checking her for fleas. The dogs have Advantage, but sometimes they pick up fleas on the walk and I don’t want them biting her. She had an allergic reaction to one once and her little face swelled. I had found one on her earlier in the evening. She was fine and squirmy – no fleas. She wanted to play with her Cuz ball and I was bothering her.

I went into the office to pay some bills and balance the check book. Kayla, my 16-year-old daughter was in there with me, playing with Rowdie and our foster dog Vader. Rowdie was playing with her Cuz ball, barking at Vader and at Kayla. I kept telling my son Garrett to go to bed and so he finally announced to the dogs, “Let’s go potty!” so he could take Greyson to bed with him. It was about 8:45.

Less than five minutes later, Garrett came back into the office with all the dogs trailing him saying “Rowdie hurt her foot. Something is wrong.” Rowdie was clearly favoring her right rear foot and frantically licking the paw pad. I scooped her up and examined her carefully and found nothing unusual. She passed gas and I didn’t think anything of it and set her down and told her she was a stinky girl.

Watching her, I saw she wouldn’t even let the foot touch the ground now. Then, all of a sudden, she vomited and then scurried out of the room. As fast as I’m trying to clean it up, she’s vomiting again and again. 5 or 6 times within 2 minutes!

I was trying to get it cleaned up before the other dogs got into it and watch her at the same time. She was slowly making her way to the doggie door and finally went out to the back yard.

I cleaned up the last bit of vomit and saw that Garrett has followed her outside. She made it to the edge of the grass. Her head was low and she had a glazed look and drool and vomit hanging from her mouth. “Poor tummy,” I thought. Then she did something VERY un-doxie… she laid down in that cold, wet grass! I scooped up the rug she puked on and grabbed the rag I had been using to clean up the mess and said to Kayla, “Something is VERY wrong! Get out there and stay with her! Talk to her.”

I ran out to the garage and then went out back. “Is she okay?”
Kayla said she was breathing very strangely and didn’t seem to want to get up. I spoke to Rowdie and said, “C’mon Rowdie, let’s go inside.” I wanted her to show me that she could get up and walk on her own. Rowdie reluctantly got up and followed me in.

Rowdie hobbled over to her bed and laid on her side. I went to get a flashlight (WHY are there no working FLASHLIGHTS when you need them?!) I finally found a tiny one that didn’t have dead batteries or missing parts. I wanted to check her pupils. With shaking hands and growing dread, I shined the light quickly in her eyes. Her pupils were wide open and not responding to the light. Her head was like lead. Then…. she pooped herself.

“Rowdie?!?! Oh my God!! Rowdie?!?”

She was completely unresponsive. “Oh my God” I moaned, panic growing… “She’s dying!”

I ran to get a towel to wrap her in and scooped her up. Fumbling for my purse and keys I yelled at the kids, “Where’s your dad?!”

The kids didn’t know where my husband was. I decided to drive to the hospital by myself. Rowdie was heavy in my arms, but still moving her eyes a bit. I ran to the car sobbing. I got to the car and couldn’t see her breathing… she was not blinking and her head was lolling like a dead thing. I started to breathe in her snout, the way I’ve heard to give dogs CPR. I made it into the car, but realized that she could be going into shock and someone needed to tend to her. I remembered the Tellington TTouch demonstration at the dachshund club. The lady giving the demonstration specifically mentioned that rubbing the dog’s ears in a specific way could keep them from going into shock and give you time to get to the vet.

I started to rub her ears the way the demonstrator showed us to keep her with me. I was calling her name again and again. I ran back inside I screamed to my daughter “I need help!!” I couldn’t tend to Rowdie and drive my manual transmission car to the vet all at the same time.

Kayla, bare foot and in gym clothes, ran to me and grabbed Rowdie. “What do I do?!?” I showed her how to do her ears. “Rub them hard like this and DON’T stop!!”

The drive to the vet is a blur. I was a maniac. Kayla was rubbing her ears and giving me feed back and telling me it was going to be okay and I was just crying and talking to Rowdie and praying. She pooped herself again but seemed to start moving her head a tiny bit. I kept thinking of Roxie – that little wire hair that died from being bitten by something poisonous.

They took her right in at the ER and gave her two shots based on what I told them. They agreed with me that they thought she was bitten and that she probably was going into shock and that the ear-rubbing served to revive her.

Two hours later, she was alert and well enough to go home. There was no visible injury to the foot, but she would still put no weight on it. They handed her to me and she smelled of vomit and poop – but I didn’t care one bit. I brought my little princess home and bathed her and held her all night, grateful for every breath. I appreciate the T-Touch demonstration so much and feel that it played a huge part in saving my little girl’s life.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

