From the Desk of Linda Tellington-Jones

I’ve been following the investigations of Jo Pogson of the UK, a TTouch practitioner and colleague of Sarah Fisher, in her efforts to help her horse, who suffers from laminitis. It is interesting to think that TTouch could be used to reduce or eliminate the need for pharmaceutical drugs that treat the hypertension that often comes along with founder and laminitis.

Jo’s words touch me deeply. There are not adequate words to express the gratitude I feel each day for the quality of the people who are drawn intuitively to this work – and for the dedication of all who pass it on by teaching. To my sister Robyn and Sarah Fisher and all the brilliant instructors and practitioners who share this special connection to animals and their people around the world, I am deeply grateful. Thank you for taking the time to write and please pass along your knowledge and enthusiasm.

Heart hugs,

Linda


On Aug 24, 2009, at 9:30 PM, Jo Pogson wrote:

Hello Linda,

I am trying to find any and all research that has been (or is being) done to identify the effects of TTouch on lowering blood pressure.

In association with my farrier, I am intending to approach a large and prestigious veterinary practice locally, armed with this research and the request that they ‘test’ it for themselves. It is our hope that this will lead to them seriously considering TTouch as a workable alternative to their current practice of treating laminitic horses with ACP drugs.

I have a personal interest in this research: one of my horses, who had been out on loan, came back to me badly foundered with rotation of both pedal bones in her front feet. She is now making a steady recovery and, of course, I am using TTouch to help her cope the best she can.

I have now forwarded the research* you sent to my ‘foot man,’ Mark. He has already started talks with our veterinary practice around the use of ACP to lower blood pressure and voiced his concerns. He will be asking them to consider TTouch as an alternative. I’ll let you know how things progress.

I have been trying to gather the words to express to you the deep and lasting impact that TTouch has had on me, and failing miserably! When Sarah Fisher described her feeling of ‘coming home’ I really connected with it. That is exactly the feeling I had. Since my early childhood I have been searching for a way of working with horses that ‘felt’ right. So many of the teachings I have had in the past just simply felt wrong. I moved away from the traditional path many years ago and did my own thing and it was an amazing feeling through my very first TTEAM training to discover that many parts of the work were things I was already doing. To find a ‘family’ who were approaching and working with horses in this way was one of the deepest emotional experiences I have had. It seems so inadequate to say ‘Thank You’ to you for discovering this work and for trusting so much in your intuition to take the work forward. I know your work has transformed many lives; I wanted you to know that mine is one of them. Bless you and thank you for your personal involvement.

Very best wishes,

Jo

* Cecilia Wendler did her PhD study on the effects of TTouch on: An Investigation of Selected Outcomes of Tellington Touch in Healthy Soldiers. There were 168 in the study, which “demonstrated a highly significant difference in mean blood pressure and heart rate between two groups. with effect sizes ranging from .58-.95 for MBP changes and .62-.72 for HR changes.”

Another study done in Moscow by veterinarians at the Bitsa Olympic center helpful for the reduction of stress hormones in sport horses resulting from TTouch.

It would be wonderful to have a study specifically related to pain reduction. One of the Russian veterinarians did a paper on that subject in the case of a champion dressage stallion who foundered and was rehabilitated with TTouch.

Comments on: "Investigating TTouch As A Complementary Therapy for Hypertension in Laminitic Horses" (3)

  1. I personally don’t see any reason why TTouch would not work to lower blood pressure. I have used Linda’s methods for years and they have a fantastic calming effect on the horses. I would imagine that lower blood pressure would also result from it.

  2. Matt Body said:

    A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure of riding out with Jo while she rode the horse she mentions in her post. The horse was sound in appearace and radiated good health and happiness. In my opinion Jo has done a pretty good job not just on this horse but to all of the horses she looks after. Truly a very special person.

    Matt Body

  3. Elizabeth Vandor said:

    I am doing TTOUCH on a horse recovering from laminits. He had a treatment from a chiropracter who said his whithers were a wreck. What TTouch applications should I use. Is there gorundwork that would be helpful?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

